Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using Castellan Crowe

+4
Pyroa7xhavik
Corennus
Vecuu
CrisLander
8 posters

:: Tactica

Go down

Using Castellan Crowe Empty Using Castellan Crowe

Post by CrisLander Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:58 pm

Hello Brothers!

I'm fairly new to the game (about 3 months) but I wanted to share my strategy with Castellan Crowe to hear your thoughts because so far, it's been very effective (has not died even once, since I started using it)

Since he cannot join another unit, and he is a magnet for the enemy, I tried deploying him in all sorts of manners and kept getting killed. Starting on the field, and trying to move through cover? Dead by the second or third round, at latest. Hugging the side of a Rhino? That works as long as the Rhino is not destroyed, and it normally is destroyed rather quickly, with Crowe following shortly. I don't have a Land Raider, so I haven't tried putting him in one.

But the one tactic that has worked wonders is putting him in a Stormraven, moving the maximum cruising range, and the next round turning to hover to deploy Crowe.

People tend to shy away from these tactics because you're making your Stormraven vulnerable while in hover mode, and additionally making it lose the Skyfire rule. But here's my lofic: You enter in round 2, and the Stormraven can move up to 36" and still use all its weapons. That means you'll be right at your enemy's field. My loadout normally includes the hurricane bolters and psi-ammo, so after unloading all the mighty power of the Stormraven, at least one unit will be pretty beaten up (if not outright dead) and maybe a second one will have a few wounds in. The rest of your army is already moving forward, so they should at least have moved 10 or so inches closer, too. More if in vehicles.