Does "the shrouding" stack?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Andersp90 on Wed May 02, 2012 5:30 pm

If you have two stormravens going falt out, side by side, each holding 1 lib, will 2 x shrouding bring their cover save down to 2+?

Would really like a way to make "sure" that my ravens deliver their payload!!

Andersp90
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 37
Age : 27
Registration date : 2012-05-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Xethik on Wed May 02, 2012 11:52 pm

I don't believe so. As both give Stealth, a special rule, they don't gain it twice, only once. I remember reading something similar with Furious Charge that said two instances do not stack. This is a pretty similar situation, so I assume it is the same.

Xethik
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 200
Age : 23
Location : Capital Region, Upstate NY
Army : Grey Knights, Dark Eldar, Ravenwing and Deathwing
Registration date : 2010-08-10

View user profile http://the-grey-knight.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Tiger10 on Thu May 03, 2012 1:28 am

Yes, I don't think Universal Special Rules stack
I wish Very Happy

Tiger10
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 197
Age : 20
Location : NSW Australia
Army : Grey Knights, Tiger Warriors Space Marines, 14th Elysian
Registration date : 2011-08-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Zealadin on Thu May 03, 2012 4:11 am

Well with the ruling that psychic powers stack unless otherwise stated in the rules its not unreasonable to assume the same applies with a psychic power that gives this kind of bonus.
Unless there is a clarification in the USR section prohibiting the stacking directly.

Its certainly an interesting question.

Zealadin
Grand Master
Grand Master

Number of posts : 3279
Age : 29
Location : Sydney Australia
Army : Retired Eldar, Puritan Grey Knights, Dark Eldar
Registration date : 2008-09-14

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://kael-din.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Andersp90 on Thu May 03, 2012 4:51 am

If the ravens are not in cover they gain a 6+ coversave.

So if they have gone flat out, thats a 4+ in itself.

Then add the bonus for 2 x shrouding = 2+.

Is there anyway to get an answer?

Andersp90
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 37
Age : 27
Registration date : 2012-05-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Zealadin on Thu May 03, 2012 5:01 am

You could email GWS. Ask them to add it to a FAQ.

Zealadin
Grand Master
Grand Master

Number of posts : 3279
Age : 29
Location : Sydney Australia
Army : Retired Eldar, Puritan Grey Knights, Dark Eldar
Registration date : 2008-09-14

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://kael-din.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Andersp90 on Thu May 03, 2012 5:12 am

Zealadin wrote:You could email GWS. Ask them to add it to a FAQ.

Do they have a special email for stuff like this?

Andersp90
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 37
Age : 27
Registration date : 2012-05-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Andersp90 on Thu May 03, 2012 7:01 am

I just called them to get an answer.

Its a no. It does not stack. So the stormraven will "only" get a 3+ coversave if it goes flatout + shrouding.

Andersp90
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 37
Age : 27
Registration date : 2012-05-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Zealadin on Thu May 03, 2012 9:55 pm

Better getting an email you can print out. They have been known to give totally different answers to each person who has asked.
That way you have something in writing you can carry around with your codex.

The more people who ask though the better the chance of it being added to the FAQ

Zealadin
Grand Master
Grand Master

Number of posts : 3279
Age : 29
Location : Sydney Australia
Army : Retired Eldar, Puritan Grey Knights, Dark Eldar
Registration date : 2008-09-14

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://kael-din.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by stormknight on Sat May 12, 2012 4:05 pm

I agree with my brothers on this one, as I don't believe the same special rules stack however. In the shrouding entry if I remember correctly you are given a 6+ cover save when no cover save is available therefore you could use this to get a 5+ cover using shrouding twice. I.e. Granted 6+ in the open + stealth.

stormknight
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 331
Age : 25
Location : England, stoke on trent
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2010-09-03

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by MJSwasey on Wed May 16, 2012 12:09 am

Psychic powers stack. USR's do not. Also, the shrouding has very specific wording that prevents stacking, even if USR's would normally stack (again, they dont).

It does not give +1 cover save or even say "gains stealth".

Instead it says the librarian and any friendly units within 6" of him "have the stealth special rule". This means if they dont have it, they get it, and if they do have it, great, they have it, the power does nothing.

Also, you can't get a 5+ in the open for this. The rule specifically states if you are not in cover, you get a 6+ cover save instead of stealth. if you have another shrouding nearby, guess what, you have a cover save but you're still not in cover, so the "instead" clause kicks in on that one too and it gives you another 6+ cover save. You can then take the best of your two cover saves.......6+ or 6+.

MJSwasey
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 927
Age : 29
Registration date : 2009-08-08

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Does "the shrouding" stack?

Post by Sponsored content Today at 11:11 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum