Thawn

 :: Tactica

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Thawn

Post by Knight Mordrak on Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:30 am

Hi Guys

So, now in 7th we don't have to take a HQ and our warlord can be ANY character, not just those from the HQ section?

So, does that mean that i can take Thawn as my Warlord?

Knight Mordrak
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 8
Age : 31
Location : SE UK
Army : Grey Knights and High Elves
Registration date : 2014-06-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Souba on Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:22 am

yes, he also got objective secured. slain warlord also only goes at the end of the game so he can be quiet durable and nice to contest objectives.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Knight Mordrak on Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:31 am

if i dont take any other HQs though, i count as "unbound" right?

Knight Mordrak
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 8
Age : 31
Location : SE UK
Army : Grey Knights and High Elves
Registration date : 2014-06-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Souba on Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:12 am

that is correct. however if you take a hq thawn can still be your warlord

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by rurik on Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:04 am

Thawn is the cheese now... it is psyker lvl 2, so it gives 2 WP

I think as it is part of terminators unit as the justicar, even when all termis are death, they will not give a VP point nor first blood. am i correct?

rurik
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 46
Age : 31
Registration date : 2012-07-13

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Corennus on Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:34 am

wha................you don't have to take HQ? cool.

Corennus
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 664
Age : 37
Location : UK
Army : Ex player from 5th ed.
Registration date : 2011-02-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Souba on Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:16 am

if you play a battleforged list (normal FOC) you still have to play that 1 hq 2 troops minimum. however your warlord does not has to be a HQ anymore, just a character.


Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by azactaylor on Mon Jun 30, 2014 10:37 am

The only problem with Thawn is that you are paying 75 +40 points to upgrade a normal sergeant to a Mastery Level 2 guy with the ability to get back up... If he was a two wound model, I would be more apt to pay the 75 points. I have had him stay down for 3 turns and then the game ended. Not a whole lot of worth out of that 75 points...

azactaylor
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 16
Age : 30
Registration date : 2012-08-21

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Souba on Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:00 pm

the thing is, if you buy terminators in general its just a 75 point upgrade. the biggest boon is that he can become your warlord now and as such is able to deny the opponent the slay the warlord victory point and also score objectives with objective secured.

if you play thawn as warlord, you dont have to fear your grandmaster of getting slain and giving up that slain warlord victory point

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Sai on Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:38 pm

The only problem with using Thawn to deny the 'slay the warlord' point is that it's an obvious and cheap trick. There's no skill to it.

Sai
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 750
Age : 34
Registration date : 2010-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Souba on Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:04 pm

there wasnt any skill in using psyrifle dreads either and yet they have been seen everywhere. now in 7th they also get back on the field.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Constantine on Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:08 pm

Agreed. We don't need to shun options just because they work well, we have had years of making do, so let's enjoy the easy stuff while it lasts.

_________________
+++"There is nothing in the arcane and blasphemous arsenal of the forces of Chaos that can compare to faith. With the power of faith, our weapons become shining instruments of deliverance that can cleave the mightiest daemon in twain. With the power of faith, our minds appear as slivers of pure agony to the daemon, driving into the wretched forms of those who would dare stand before us. With the power of faith, our words become commands that cause the daemon to cower and cringe in terror. I could meet my enemies unarmed without a shred of fear in my chest, for I know that the Emperor watches over me and guides my hand. So let them come. We shall show them what the power of faith can do."+++ (Brother Captain Stern)

Constantine
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 5793
Age : 41
Location : The British Columbia Sector
Army : Grand Master Mordrak's Brotherhood, Deathwing...Pretty much any first company! I LOVE terminators!!!
Registration date : 2008-05-26

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Sai on Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:04 am

Psyrifles are different- you still have to actually use them, and the enemy can destroy them.  They're an unimaginative choice certainly, but it's not like they can't be countered.  

As it was there was no counter to Thawn's regeneration and removing him from an objective meant killing him and spreading out over a wide area to prevent his coming back on what could be 5vp.  Still, to get there we need to be bold and lucky or slog to the objective.

Now we have a 50% save on giving 'away slay the warlord', but one that doesn't require us to do anything and our opponent's can't stop it. And when asked why the Justicar is our army leader we have to own up and give a decidedly gamey excuse.  

I guess I'm a role-playing wargamer so my perspective is a bit off-kilter.  I don't live in my parents' basement, I swear-to-god.

Don't get me wrong, I like the character.  Having him crawl out of a crashed stormraven to hunt a riptide down is one of the most cinematic gaming experiences I've had.  Kind of bringing The Terminator to the terminator armour.


Last edited by Sai on Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:55 am; edited 1 time in total

Sai
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 750
Age : 34
Registration date : 2010-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Aubec le noir on Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:15 am

i understand and like the cinematic style of playing, but it's a hash universe, so why don't we use all the weapons and capacities offered by the 7th.
I will give a try to Thawn, one day !  Wink 
Aubec  pirat 

_________________
la fuite n'est pas une option !

Aubec le noir
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 3657
Age : 47
Location : France
Army : 40K : GK (curious isn't it ;-) ) WHB : Dwarfs, Ogres, Mercs
Registration date : 2009-11-01

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://lacompagniephoenix.bb-fr.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Corennus on Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:17 am

"You can't reason with it, you can't negotiate with it . it doesn't get hungry, doesn't get tired, and it absolutely will not stop! Until you are dead."

Corennus
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 664
Age : 37
Location : UK
Army : Ex player from 5th ed.
Registration date : 2011-02-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Sai on Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:56 am

On reflection, that quote could also sum up my old boss

Sai
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 750
Age : 34
Registration date : 2010-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by DonFer on Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:01 pm

I used Thawn recently and the 75 points tax is worth it. Thawn diverts so much firepower from other units. Even when you say to your opponent that Thawn gets back up, they shoot them for the precious VP. Once they realize that he really get's back up, the ignore it completely which suits him fine. he's free to wander around denying objectives and killing light infantry.
2 additional dice in the psychic phase is also very nice indeed.

DonFer
Terminator
Terminator

Number of posts : 1398
Age : 41
Registration date : 2010-10-21

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Akoni on Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:06 am

Maybe I'll use Thawn for this weekends Apocalypse game.

Akoni
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 687
Age : 43
Location : California
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2011-05-17

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by DOMIN4TRIX on Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:33 am

How do you think Thawn works with the maelstrom slay the warlord mission?

I think it's worded something like 'gain a VP if the opposition warlord was killed in this or any previous turn'


DOMIN4TRIX
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 642
Age : 35
Army : Knights, Nids and Necs
Registration date : 2011-08-09

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://corpointdeux.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by bigbri on Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:32 am

DOMIN4TRIX wrote:How do you think Thawn works with the maelstrom slay the warlord mission?

I think it's worded something like 'gain a VP if the opposition warlord was killed in this or any previous turn'

"Score D3 Victory Points at the end of your turn if your opponent's Warlord has been removed as a casualty during this, or any previous turn." Thawn's rules state that when he is removed as a casualty you place the marker and he can come back. That means your opponent gets the VP if they killed him, even if he has come back subsequently.

bigbri
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 712
Age : 27
Location : Manchester, England
Army : Grey Knights/Space Wolves/Imperial Guard
Registration date : 2010-08-04

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by DOMIN4TRIX on Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:22 am

Thanks Bigbri. As I suspected Sad

DOMIN4TRIX
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 642
Age : 35
Army : Knights, Nids and Necs
Registration date : 2011-08-09

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://corpointdeux.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by DonFer on Thu Jul 17, 2014 3:31 pm

Oh well one cannot have everything right? Still is funny how Thawn just went from collecting dust in the codex to be actually considered to lead your army. Makes you think on what info Matt Ward had when he created the guy...

DonFer
Terminator
Terminator

Number of posts : 1398
Age : 41
Registration date : 2010-10-21

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by DOMIN4TRIX on Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:12 am

I think Matt Ward imagined him as the vessel for the Emperor's resurrection

DOMIN4TRIX
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 642
Age : 35
Army : Knights, Nids and Necs
Registration date : 2011-08-09

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://corpointdeux.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Aubec le noir on Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:57 am

You give Ward too much credit if you ask me !  Wink 
Aubec  pirat 

_________________
la fuite n'est pas une option !

Aubec le noir
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 3657
Age : 47
Location : France
Army : 40K : GK (curious isn't it ;-) ) WHB : Dwarfs, Ogres, Mercs
Registration date : 2009-11-01

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://lacompagniephoenix.bb-fr.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by RCDragon on Sun Jul 20, 2014 4:01 pm

I've always like Thawn, he was always a part of my term squad anytime I took them. The yes he gets to stand back up every time you kill him really creates a look on my opponents face that is priceless...now he can be even more flexible. Gaming is gaming, I play units and models I like and now I can do it without bounds.

RCDragon
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 26
Age : 52
Registration date : 2010-10-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Thawn

Post by Sponsored content Today at 7:29 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 :: Tactica

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum