Angels of death

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Sun Apr 24, 2016 5:22 pm

Anyone else that´s gotten the formation book?

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Aubec le noir on Mon Apr 25, 2016 5:06 am

I saw it but didn't but it cause post of the formations could be found else where in campaign books for instance...
And i have the formations i need...
The new psy powers though are awesome ! ... Most of Them anyway !  Twisted Evil
Aubec pirat


Last edited by Aubec le noir on Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:01 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
la fuite n'est pas une option !

Aubec le noir
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 3638
Age : 47
Location : France
Army : 40K : GK (curious isn't it ;-) ) WHB : Dwarfs, Ogres, Mercs
Registration date : 2009-11-01

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://lacompagniephoenix.bb-fr.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:32 pm

Well, I must say it is finally something worth buying.

Though it raises a few questions such as can you take a chapter master with cataphracti amour or not?
I think that RAI allows it.

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Souba on Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:35 am

Pyriel wrote:Well, I must say it is finally something worth buying.

Though it raises a few questions such as can you take a chapter master with cataphracti amour or not?
I think that RAI allows it.

yes you can. for vanilla marines at least and only with a regular CAD or if you use one of the Detatchments within angels of death (they contain the cataphrakti captain, which got the optional upgrade to chaptermaster)

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Andarius the Red on Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:27 am

Real shame that we have no formation options for grey knights in the book, although the librarius conclave could be an interesting addition. They can't be grey knights but a conclave of 3-5 librarians would be catastrophic if used properly.

Andarius the Red
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 386
Age : 32
Location : Hamilton Ontario
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2008-07-28

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Aubec le noir on Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:50 pm

Hope that there's no Culexus in your opponent's army ! Razz Twisted Evil
Aubec pirat

_________________
la fuite n'est pas une option !

Aubec le noir
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 3638
Age : 47
Location : France
Army : 40K : GK (curious isn't it ;-) ) WHB : Dwarfs, Ogres, Mercs
Registration date : 2009-11-01

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://lacompagniephoenix.bb-fr.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:22 pm

yes you can. for vanilla marines at least and only with a regular CAD or if you use one of the Detatchments within angels of death (they contain the cataphrakti captain, which got the optional upgrade to chaptermaster) wrote:

Unfortunately no. Not according to RAW. The Captain entry in AoD does come with a few upgrade choices and chapter master is not among them.

Just like there is an option to switch any dreadnought entry for a contemptor(s) but not give them abything other then a MM or AC.

Wargear wise cataphractii armour does not have the option to be exchangeable for any terminator option in any codex.

I find it stupid that only captains (independent charater wise) are offered the cataphracti and I dont think it is what was intended but Chapter masters have no option to switch their armour for it nor do teh captains that get it have the option to upgrade to chapter master.



Yes grey knights suck to the point of being outright unplayable today, saying anything other is to delude oneself.
Bearing in mind that GW are now trying to fix the horrible balance not by making new codexes but by repairing them by adding formations I think the GK will get some sort of codex supplement with insane formation bonuses to mend the utter shit they have in their codex somewhat.

Personally I dont even think it is possible to repair the GKs without giving them a totally new codex.

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Souba on Sun May 01, 2016 4:50 pm

I got the question wrong, sorry. pyriel is right, no cataphrakti armour for chaptermasters


however GK are not on such a bad position. they arent the strongest but they go in the middle of power. the new 4 psychic disciplines help there aswell.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Mon May 02, 2016 5:53 pm

Also need a bit of help on the formation soup. I´we been a little away from gaming and am confused a bit with all the new addition.

Lets take Angels of Death as an example. In the Salamanders detatchment that gives things like +1S to flamer weapons you can add several formations BUT the skyhammer is not one of them (the one with 2 devastators and 2 assault squads).

SO:
The question is thus, can I make a salamander detatchment taking say, one of the required cores and/or hqs plus carious offered formations AND on top throw in the skyhammer formation?

If so then I assume everything except the skyhammer formation will get the detatchment rules like stronger flamers.

Is this correct or am I mistaken?


Question number two:
Lets say I just took the salamanders detatchment plus out of detatchment skyhammer formations CAN I also on top of it all ally in another chapter formation such as a raven guard formation or a ultramarine librarian conclave?


I have never used allies before.

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Souba on Thu May 05, 2016 10:22 am

you can play a formation on its own if you wish to.

your example is correct, only the formations within the detatchment gain the benefits while the skyhammer formation has to "act on its own"

interresting is, we are bringing out FAQ/erratas soon and some questions have allready been answered. in case of the skyhammer formation for example: IC's that you attach to skyhammer formations also gain the benefits of the formation. a IC could deepstrike and assault if its attached to a skyhammer formations assault squad. (and he would still keep his own detatchment bonus like the +1s for flame weapons etc)

question two: yes you can do that. as long as you and your opponent knows what unit is part of wich detatchment, if any.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Thu May 05, 2016 11:57 am

Thanks Souba.

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Klomster on Thu May 05, 2016 4:57 pm

My work here is done.
*Flies away*

Klomster
Adeptus Administratum
Adeptus Administratum

Number of posts : 4153
Age : 27
Location : -Data lost-
Army : Think positive, it will soon get worse. (Mechanicus)
Registration date : 2007-12-21

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Thu May 05, 2016 7:30 pm

Missed one thing.

If taking a skyhammer then the skyhammer can NEVER get the +1S flamers from the flameblade detatchment since it is not in the detatchments formation choices.

Then any IC coming from the flameblade that attatched to the skyhammer can or cant have the +1S?


In other words if your army consist of a dcertain detatchment that grants certain bonuses, say the flameblade then will its ICs carry with them those bonuses if they are taken and added to allied OR other formations that do not come with said bonuses?

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Souba on Fri May 06, 2016 3:50 pm

the IC still gets the +1 strength for his flamer. in addition he can also assault after deepstriking when he is added to one of the skyhammer units.


Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Pyriel on Sat May 07, 2016 12:20 am

Damn, seems the IC attatched to the skyhammer can NOT charge the same turn they deepstrike.

New big faq up on gws site.


"
Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation command benefits (e.g. the
Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unit-wide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii
apply to any attached Independent Characters?
A: No.
"

So in the example above the salamanders IC would get his +1 flamer S but not the charge upon deepstrike given by the unit-rule he attatched to.

Pyriel
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 394
Army : Pure GK, Salamanders, orks
Registration date : 2008-03-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Souba on Sat May 07, 2016 4:24 pm

ohh then they changed that a day/a few hours ago. because it was a yes previously :/

its still in the draft so i guess its good that the community can help create a better game overall.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Angels of death

Post by Sponsored content Today at 9:36 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum