The Summoning

 :: Tactica

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The Summoning

Post by Maelstorm on Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:45 pm

Situation:
* I've attached a Librarian to Mordrak and his Ghost Knights.  The whole mob Deep Strikes without error at the start of Turn 1.

Question:
* May I immediately use "The Summoning" to bring a Rhino from the other side of the table to within 6" of the Librarian?  Or, do I have to wait until Turn 2 to use The Summoning?

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Maelstorm
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 4
Age : 52
Registration date : 2014-04-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Souba on Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:07 pm

straight from the FAQ's:

Q:
Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

since the summoning works similar to a blessing id say: go nuts.

here is a link to the "new" FAQ page:
http://www.blacklibrary.com/faqs-and-errata.html

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1586
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Maelstorm on Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:02 am

Outstanding, thank you!

Maelstorm
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 4
Age : 52
Registration date : 2014-04-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Corennus on Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:26 am

What that means is you can do the following;

Have Mordrak and a single Ghost Knight and a librarian with The Summoning and Teleport Homer.

Have 2 Interceptor Squads (made able to take objectives by Mordrak) and 2 Dreadknights w/ Teleport Shunt. and a Land Raider Crusader full of Purifiers with Warp Stabilisation Field.

Mordrak and Librarian deep strike in on turn 1. Librarian Summons the Land Raider (which deep strikes within 6" due to the teleport homer). The Interceptors and Dreadknights Shunt and deploy within 6" of the Librarian too. Purifiers bale out of the land raider.
You now have a potential (depending on points limits):

2 Heavy Incinerators (best loadout for Dreadknights)
6 Psycannons (2 each on Interceptors and up to 4 on 10 man purifier squad)
T-L Asssault Cannon on Land Raider
T_L Hurricane Bolters on Land Raider
Multi-Melta on land raider (optional)
25 Storm Bolters.

I don't care who you are and what your toughness is. That is going to hurt! Especially as you can have the Librarian cast Sanctuary so assaulting units may be in difficulty when trying to get to you.
And in turn 2......hello Nemesis Blades!

Corennus
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 664
Age : 37
Location : UK
Army : Ex player from 5th ed.
Registration date : 2011-02-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by DOMIN4TRIX on Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:45 am

Ally in 2 omi's with psycannons to mordraks unit.

Normally with teleport homers they have to be on the board a turn before use don't they? - something to check

DOMIN4TRIX
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 642
Age : 35
Army : Knights, Nids and Necs
Registration date : 2011-08-09

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://corpointdeux.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Maelstorm on Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:08 am

DOMIN4TRIX wrote:Ally in 2 omi's with psycannons to mordraks unit.

Normally with teleport homers they have to be on the board a turn before use don't they? - something to check

Correct, a Teleport Homer has to already be on the board to work. Sad

Maelstorm
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 4
Age : 52
Registration date : 2014-04-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Corennus on Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:39 am

hmmm......bother

Corennus
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 664
Age : 37
Location : UK
Army : Ex player from 5th ed.
Registration date : 2011-02-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Corennus on Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:33 am

hmmm what about:

Librarian on board in turn 1 with teleport homer and Terminator unit with psycannons..

ok I can think through this:

HQ

Librarian
The Summoning
155

Librarian
The Summoning
155

ELITES

Eversor Assassin
135


TROOPS

Terminator Squad (10 man)
Psycannons x 2
450

Terminator Squad (10 man)
Psycannons x 2
450


HEAVY SUPPORT

Purgator Squad (5 man)
Teleport Homer
Psycannons x 2
DT: Rhino w/ extra armour
Warp Stabilisation Field
195

Purgator Squad (5 man)
Psycannons x 2
DT: Rhino w/ Extra armour
Warp Stabilisation Field
190

Land Raider Crusader
Multi-Melta
Warp Stabilisation Field
275


Silly idea. but:

The purgators and land raider (with eversor in) go flat out on first turn, making up as much ground as they can and hopefully getting behind ruins or cover.
Second turn the terminators (hopefully) deep strike down near the servo skulls or near the purgator squad with the teleport homer.
Then advance on objectives with librarians summoning reinforcements as needed.

Corennus
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 664
Age : 37
Location : UK
Army : Ex player from 5th ed.
Registration date : 2011-02-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Summoning

Post by Sponsored content Today at 12:51 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 :: Tactica

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum