Rules Clarification Request

 :: Tactica

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rules Clarification Request

Post by flaxis on Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:01 am

Brothers,

I have heard and personally I am not sure if it is right or not.

Grey Knight Strike squad standard member has 2 attacks in close combat with additional for charging on top of that. This being 1 base attack plus one for second assault weapon (storm bolter) as they have CC (sword) and bolter. Therefore the unit champion has 3 attacks plus any for charging etc.

Can you confirm that this is the case or is it as I believe 1 attack which you then add 1 for charging?

Thanks,
Brother Flaxis

flaxis
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 142
Age : 40
Registration date : 2011-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Aubec le noir on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:03 am

it seems to me ... odd !? scratch
but i don't my BRB on hand....
Aubec pirat

_________________
la fuite n'est pas une option !

Aubec le noir
Adeptus Moderatus
Adeptus Moderatus

Number of posts : 3638
Age : 47
Location : France
Army : 40K : GK (curious isn't it ;-) ) WHB : Dwarfs, Ogres, Mercs
Registration date : 2009-11-01

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile http://lacompagniephoenix.bb-fr.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Valten on Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:28 am

This is incorrect - you don't receive additional attacks when using an assault weapon.

Valten
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 552
Age : 31
Location : Warrington, UK
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2011-02-14

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by DonFer on Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:33 am

True, Storm Bolters don't add attacks since they are not pistols, nor are they close combat weapons. So your standard SS will have 1 attack base, 2 attacks when assaulting. That's it.

DonFer
Terminator
Terminator

Number of posts : 1398
Age : 41
Registration date : 2010-10-21

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Overlord on Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:08 am

Brother Flaxis,
According to the BRB page 24 (Number of attacks) you only get the +1 attack for Charging or for two "single hand" weapons, further defined as melee weapons and/or pistol in each hand. The Stormbolter is a two handed weapon and therefore does not count.

So the standard GK would get 1 attack base and only +1 if he charges, the justicar will get his 2 base attacks and only +1 if he charges.

Overlord
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 120
Age : 42
Location : Colorado
Army : Grey Knights/Chaos SM/Orks/Tyranids
Registration date : 2011-09-14

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by flaxis on Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:23 am

Brothers,

Thank you for clearing that up, and confirming my thinking.

Brother Flaxis

flaxis
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 142
Age : 40
Registration date : 2011-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Akoni on Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:05 am

I'm not contesting the ruling or the other posts LOL. But what's funny in the case of the Grey Knights is that both the PAGK and Terminators use one hand to shoot their stormbolter. We should be the exception to the rule! Razz

Akoni
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 687
Age : 42
Location : California
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2011-05-17

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Souba on Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:05 pm

well in the daemonhunter codex they did count as additional close combat weapon. but didnt granted the additional attack while assaulting.

i think the stormbolters beeing modeled at their arms is still something that goes from the last edition look wich is imo a nice thing though the rules dont use that anymore.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1574
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Clarification Request

Post by Sponsored content Today at 11:10 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 :: Tactica

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum