DreadKnight Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down

DreadKnight Question

Post by Eldar88 on Sun Aug 26, 2012 2:40 pm

Hi I'm New TO Grey Knights in their latest codex, (Had a Daemon hunters force in last codex)
I'm just wondering whether or not DreadKnights can have A sword AND 2 guns as the dex seems to say so but i'm not sure
Cheers brothers
Eldar88

Eldar88
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 18
Age : 23
Location : En Route To Eye Of Terror
Army : Grey Knights, Dark Angels, Chaos Daemons, Chaos Marines, Eldar, Tau, Nids, Blood Angels, Guard,
Registration date : 2012-08-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by volvoe on Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:49 pm

Yes. A dread knight can have up to two guns and may replace one doomfist for a sword. Very Happy

volvoe
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Army : Purifier Variant
Registration date : 2012-04-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by Akoni on Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:48 pm

Recently, I've been outfitting my (2) Dreadknights each with a heavy incinerator and a Gatling psilencer. I was actually impressed with the Gatling psilencer on (2) accounts. It can potentially "hit" more models in a unit vs an unpredictable large blast via a heavy psycannon. However, I was more impressed with the psilencers use just prior to an assault on a unit to whittle down models and for use in overwatch when I was assaulted.

I think that for a Dreadknight using a Gatling psilencer has now become a viable option to consider.

Akoni
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 687
Age : 43
Location : California
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2011-05-17

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by Daryl on Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:40 pm

Do not also forget that since he is a character any 6 to hit can be allocated, so 12 shots are now more likely to take out special weapons and or characters. This also includes snap firing before getting charged.

Daryl
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 18
Age : 42
Location : Christchurch, New Zealand
Registration date : 2011-03-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by jeffersonian000 on Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:29 am

Oddly enough, I too enjoy using the Greatsword+Heavy Incinerator+Heavy Psilencer on my DKs. Heavy 12 and a Template? Yes please! People see the S4 AP - stat line the turn away, but stormbolters are S4 AP5 weapons we are normally using against armor save 3+ enemies making AP in useless most of the time anyways. Heavy Psilencer is like the "huricane" version of Stormbolters, one might say.

SJ

jeffersonian000
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 107
Age : 44
Location : Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Army : Knights of the Word
Registration date : 2009-06-08

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by Whipthorn on Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:50 pm

I ran my first DreadKnight today against a Tyranid army, and I was impressed with the loadout. Had the Gatling Psilencer, Heavy Psycannon, and Greatsword. Was able to kill a lot of crunchy units and even go toe to toe with a named Tyranid CC model and soak all the hits directed towards me.

Whipthorn
Stormtrooper
Stormtrooper

Number of posts : 23
Age : 36
Location : Spokane WA
Army : Grey Knights FTW! 4250 Pt Army ready to roll!
Registration date : 2012-10-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by Thraxdown on Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:20 pm

Can a dreadknight perform a sweeping advance? I think no because he's in terminator arm our, but is there some sort of mc rule I'm overlooking?

Thraxdown
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 132
Age : 33
Location : Oklahoma City, OK
Registration date : 2012-07-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by bigbri on Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:28 am

Thraxdown wrote:Can a dreadknight perform a sweeping advance? I think no because he's in terminator arm our, but is there some sort of mc rule I'm overlooking?
Not so much overlooking as over thinking. While the dude inside the NDK does wear terminator armour, he's not actually listed anywhere as being equipped with it, hence you get none of the bonuses/penalties associated with it. Instead a NDK is equipped with dreadknight armour which gives it it's profile and special rules(none of which prohibit it from sweeping)

bigbri
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 712
Age : 27
Location : Manchester, England
Army : Grey Knights/Space Wolves/Imperial Guard
Registration date : 2010-08-04

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by DonFer on Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:10 am

Now you can have shooty DKs and Assaulty DKs. The Heavy Psycannon is good with sixth though I still dislike the Psylencer. I would use one shooty DK with Heavy Psycannon and Incin, and the other with Incin and Sword. Perhaps personal teleporter too, though the costs start to increase exponentially...

DonFer
Terminator
Terminator

Number of posts : 1398
Age : 41
Registration date : 2010-10-21

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: DreadKnight Question

Post by Sponsored content Today at 12:47 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum