Brotherhood chamion question

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Brotherhood chamion question

Post by stormknight on Fri May 18, 2012 4:25 pm

Hello Brothers,

I was wondering if i was to use blade shield would this affect a perils of the warp roll on a pyschic power?

I have used him a few games now and he is so delicate I fear putting armor saves on him and even using hammerhand to boost the effectiveness of the squad (I tend to take the risk) and he has died once which cost me dear against blood crushers. edit on a perils casting hammerhand

Another minor problem I have is remembering my pyschic powers and special rules, there's so many.

stormknight
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 331
Age : 25
Location : England, stoke on trent
Army : Grey Knights
Registration date : 2010-09-03

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by Sai on Fri May 18, 2012 5:02 pm

Blade Shield would possibly work against perils if you're being a lawyer about it but I can't see how having a perfect fencing stance helps against daemons mind-raping you from the warp. I'd probably go with no.

I run my champion in a large unit, preferably 10 strong, so I rarely have to allocate wounds to him for shooting and can get maximum use of the 'Herald of Titan' rule. He's good for character/monster hunting. The squad can cast hammerhand and he can use his re-rolls to hit and wound followed by a force weapon activation. It has worked on 3 out of the 4 times I've tried it so far, but it's made a lot more unlikely if the enemy have a decent invulnerable save.

As for assault, the enemy choose whether to hit him or not, and in this case I don't find him that much more fragile than a 2 wound character like a librarian. Most characters get hammered by powerfists, force weapons or a large number of attacks- the extra wound rarely helps.

Sai
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 750
Age : 34
Registration date : 2010-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by bigbri on Sun May 20, 2012 12:40 pm

@Sai How would his Iron Halo help him either, or vanilla termie librarians using their storm shield to protect them from the daemons exploding out of their head? Razz At the end of the day I'd argue you can do it, it might not be fluffy, but then there's plenty of things that aren't either. The stance says he can reroll invuls, so he can reroll any invuls, I wouldn't even say it's being rules lawyery, as you aren't trying to twist the words to get an effect you want, that's just the way it is.

bigbri
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 712
Age : 27
Location : Manchester, England
Army : Grey Knights/Space Wolves/Imperial Guard
Registration date : 2010-08-04

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by Sai on Sun May 20, 2012 4:07 pm

Good point on the stormshield. Stupid necromunda brain trying to apply logic.

If successful saves are re-rolled because it's a perils attack and failed saves are re-rolled because of blade shield, how does it work out?
He has a 4+ invulnerable so it's 50/50, and then no matter what the result it gets re-rolled, once again at 50/50. So blade shield negates the re-roll from perils, right?

Sai
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 750
Age : 34
Registration date : 2010-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by Klauzer on Sun May 20, 2012 5:09 pm

It states that he re-rolls failed saving throws until the end of the phase. If you were not allowed to re-roll perils saves I think it would say so. The perils of the warp rules do not deny modifiers either, and only indicate that you must roll invul saves. So the idea that you can re-roll failed perils saves as long as you're using blade shield is quite feasible.

Klauzer
Henchmen
Henchmen

Number of posts : 94
Age : 27
Location : PA, USA
Army : Really Fluffy
Registration date : 2011-09-11

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by first strike on Sun May 20, 2012 5:15 pm

When you get to re-roll both good and bad rolls then the normal convention is to just make one roll (I think that it is F.A.Qed somewhere). It could be a faq in fantasy but I think that it can be applyed here as well.

first strike
Grey Knight
Grey Knight

Number of posts : 409
Age : 41
Army : Grey Knights, Eldar, Space Wolves, High Elf
Registration date : 2012-02-08

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by Souba on Sun May 20, 2012 8:06 pm

no its not only in fantasy. in 40k aswell.the example there was null zone from the space marines against the special ability of fateweaver. it must be in either, the space marine faq, the daemon faq or the rulebook faq.

Souba
Brother Captain
Brother Captain

Number of posts : 1587
Age : 30
Location : Berlin, Germany
Army : Inquisitorial Army, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemons of Chaos
Registration date : 2009-11-07

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by MJSwasey on Wed May 30, 2012 12:10 am

First strike is correct. Whenever you have a rules question, it's good to just swing by the FAQ and skim it or search for "re-roll" or something close, which will tell you (main 40k FAQ)

Q: If a unit has a special rule that lets it re-roll failed
saves and is being affected by an enemy special rule
that makes them re-roll successful saves how is this
resolved? (p25)
A: Whilst you should technically roll all the dice and
then re-roll them, just roll the saves once and apply the
results to save time

MJSwasey
Justicar
Justicar

Number of posts : 927
Age : 29
Registration date : 2009-08-08

Grey knight
stats:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Brotherhood chamion question

Post by Sponsored content Today at 12:12 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum